Falling in Love Again

ONE BODY

I’ve believed in God my entire life. I actually can’t remember a time when I didn’t. It’s always been easy for me to believe that everything I can see around me was created with purpose rather than just a culmination of random events. What has NOT always been easy, however, has been believing that Jesus actually meant all of the things He said. Whether you follow Jesus or not, I’m sure at some point you’ve been exposed to discussions about the ways we interpret (or misinterpret) His teachings today. Well, after spending many years fighting with God over interpretations of Jesus, I’ve come to some personal conclusions. I think there are 2 main reasons that people question the things Jesus said:

1. The things He said conflict with how a person wants to live their life

2. From our current culture’s viewpoint, the things Jesus said sound so unloving sometimes!

That’s not the main focus of my writing today.

I get caught up in those arguments. I spend a lot of my time and energy being angry about the ways that culture has watered Jesus down. I see a lot of people spend time and energy on youtube’s comment section debating whether or not Jesus would eat at Chick Fil A.

Every once in a while, if you believe in Jesus, it’s important to take time to fall in love with Him again.

I was able to attend Willow Creek’s Leadership Summit this year. One of the last speakers was John Ortberg and he spent about a half hour reminding us all who Jesus is.

It was amazing.

All of the arguments, anger and analysis fell off of my soul long enough for me to become passionate about sharing Jesus again. It felt good to just be humbled before God in that moment and remember how MY interpretations and MY feelings are not important.

If you want to fall in love with Jesus again, try finding Ortberg’s book, Who is this Man?.

 

CROWNS THAT DON’T LAST

Calm down, America. RG3 still hasn’t thrown a pass in an actual NFL game. You won’t find this Redskins fan helping turn RG3 into the next Donovan McNabb. (You know, where an entire city swears he’s the greatest player ever, yet he never seems to win anything.)

 

SLAVERY

We were able to completely pay off 2 of our debts this past weekend! It’s such a great feeling every time a new debtor gets out of our lives. Over the summer we’ve eliminated close to $5,000 in debt. It’s all about hard work!

 

NOT FOR HUMAN MASTERS

So far, the new job is as good as advertised. My coworkers are great and I am going to learn a LOT about producing different kinds of media.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

