Disproving God: My 5 Stage Reaction Process

PATIENCE AND A GENTLE TONGUE

There are some fantastic headlines on My Yahoo! page today. The one that most caught my eye was the one that said science is getting closer and closer to definitively ruling out the existence of God. The article can be found here.

As someone who believes wholeheartedly in the existence of God, these kinds of articles tend to have an interesting impact on me. My typical reaction happens in stages, sort of like the grief stages or the 12 steps. It goes something like this: 1) I experience a brief spike of anger that quickly dissipates into arrogant head shaking and eye rolling. 2) I get combative and plan my awesome blog post that is going to change the world and prove the existence of God once and for all. 3) I become aware of my pettiness and feel a strong urge to hand out hugs to atheists while apologizing for my aforementioned anger. 4) I accept that my world view is shaped by different influences than other people’s. 5) I am finally ready to respectfully speak confidently about what I think.

I’ve said before that I think people on both sides of any argument are guilty of getting so caught up in the feeling that they are right, that they often don’t even realize the way that they are belittling other people’s ideas. I honestly don’t want to get caught up in any kind of argument about the existence of God because frankly, I’m not smart enough. I do have something I want to say specifically to people that believe in God, just like I do, and that is this: Don’t be afraid of science. Science can never prove that God does or doesn’t exist. When it comes to God, science is usually a tool that people use to reinforce what they already believe.

The most important part of this article is the last part. Here is the quote:

“We’re not designed at the level of theoretical physics,” Daniel Kruger, an evolutionary psychologist at the University of Michigan, told LiveScience last year. What matters to most people “is what happens at the human scale, relationships to other people, things we experience in a lifetime.”

What Kruger says perfectly illustrates why I believe in God. I think we can re-word what he said to be something like this: “We get caught up in our own worlds so much that we don’t see the big picture. We don’t realize that we are just a tiny cog in a universe-sized machine.”

I look at the world from the completely opposite perspective. I believe when you make science your God (which ultimately means human understanding of science), you will always end up at the conclusion that people aren’t very important. The answer to “Why are we here?” doesn’t exist, as the article points out.

Through my belief in a personal, creator God, people have tremendous meaning because they were created with a purpose and in the image of God Himself. Granted that doesn’t readily explain why there are dinosaur bones buried in the dirt, but understanding dinosaur bones doesn’t actually solve any problems or have any bearing on my purpose in life. String theory will never explain why there is evil in the world and it won’t provide the peace which transcends all understanding (Philippians 4:7). By the way, those aren’t just words that we have blind faith in. Those of us who know God experience Him regularly and that’s our evidence. The problem is, we’ll never be able to develop a tool that measures God’s activities and therefore some people just won’t believe.

I wonder what Daniel Kruger is like in his personal relationships. Do you think he ever feels grief, pain,fear, joy, embarrassment, shame or love? Does he remind himself in those moments that those aren’t the important things? Does thinking about theoretical physics make his fears and pains disappear since he knows they are just his psychological responses brought on by millions of years of evolution? I really wonder what Daniel Kruger would say his purpose is in life.

If you’re a believer, stay strong in the face of these kinds of articles. You can believe in God and learn about science all at the same time! Don’t be afraid.

 

SLAVERY

Another headline today talked about how Vince Young, a former promising young quarterback in the NFL, is broke. He received $26 million guaranteed in his rookie deal and it’s now gone. That is unbelievable to me. Dave Ramsey often says that if you’re broke but start employing money practices of wealthy people, you’ll become wealthy. The reverse is also true. It’s not a new thing that famous athletes squander away all of their money, it happens to a lot of them. Antonia and I would qualify as broke, but we are trying to start handling money in a wise manner and it’s helping us pay down our debt and eventually it will help us save up so that we can retire well and be in a position to give a lot of money to help people. The majority of people with a lot of money aren’t just lucky, greedy people who won the lottery and get to live however they want. They work hard to spend and save wisely. If you want to maintain wealth, you have to be a good steward and that applies if you’re broke as well. Act broke, be broke. Act wealthy, be wealthy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

