Time Management: How We Spent 100,000 Years in 2013

LAMP OF THE BODY

I read an article yesterday about the most-watched YouTube videos of 2013. Aside from the fact that there is essentially nothing but junk at the tops of the lists, I was floored by the amount of time that is spent worldwide watching YouTube videos. The top 20 channels on YouTube were viewed more than 18 billion times which equals around 102,000 years of viewing time. Yes, you read that right: 102,000 YEARS. I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around that. Sometimes I hear people complain about how much money we put into meaningless things like sporting events when there is so much need in the world. Well, if time is also a commodity, then I think it’s safe to say that we are FAILING at spending it correctly. Don’t worry, this isn’t going to turn preachy because I think one reason it really struck me when I read it is because I’ve been scrutinizing how I spend my own time lately. You could say the world is full of time-wasters, of whom I am chief. Living in China I don’t have a lot of the usual distractions of home and our job includes a lot of down time. When we first arrived I imagined all of the things I was going to accomplish with all of this extra time. I was quickly amazed (and embarrassed) by my seemingly supernatural ability to avoid doing anything of substance. There are the usual culprits like Facebook and YouTube, but since when do I love using plants to kill zombies so much??! We also have a bad habit of letting our hours be eaten alive by Netflix when we are at home. I’ve flown through 5 1/2 seasons of Parks and Recreation in the span of a month and I am now working my way through The West Wing.

I have been steadily pushing myself to change. For my birthday I asked if we could spend some money on a cheap electronic keyboard.

IMG_0634

IMG_0635It’s pretty cheap and obviously everything is in Chinese so I have no idea what most of the buttons do. But it’s good enough that I can spend a little time practicing on it every day. I have a membership to the gym near our house and have been going a few times each week. I have also been reading more.

It’s not much, but it’s a start. I would love it if a year from now I could play a song or two on the piano and lift more than the shamefully low amount of weight that I can currently muster.

In any case, can we please agree not to spend 100,000 years watching Miley Cyrus anymore?

Please feel free to share your struggles/victories over time management in the comments section. I’d love more tips on how to improve.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time Management: How We Spent 100,000 Years in 2013

  1. Amy says:

    I am so with you in the time wasting struggle. Fight on brother! Here’s to new beginnings!

Leave a Reply

